The Furies

The Furies They are called the Keepers and the thing they guard so jealously is not material in the way that humans understand the word It has volume but no shape mass but no size

  • Title: The Furies
  • Author: Keith Roberts
  • ISBN: 0140071911
  • Page: 417
  • Format: Paperback
  • They are called the Keepers, and the thing they guard so jealously is not material in the way that humans understand the word It has volume but no shape, mass but no size.

    • ↠ The Furies || ↠ PDF Read by ☆ Keith Roberts
      417 Keith Roberts
    • thumbnail Title: ↠ The Furies || ↠ PDF Read by ☆ Keith Roberts
      Posted by:Keith Roberts
      Published :2020-03-23T23:13:06+00:00

    Keith Roberts

    Used These Alternate Names Alistair Bevan , John Kingston , David Stringer Keith John Kingston Roberts was a British science fiction author He began publishing with two stories in the September 1964 issue of Science Fantasy magazine, Anita the first of a series of stories featuring a teenage modern witch and her eccentric granny and Escapism.Several of his early stories were written using the pseudonym Alistair Bevan His second novel, Pavane, which is really a collection of linked stories, may be his most famous work an alternate history novel in which the Roman Catholic Church takes control of England following the assassination of Queen Elizabeth I.Roberts wrote numerous novels and short stories, and also worked as an illustrator His artistic contributions include covers and interior artwork for New Worlds and Science Fantasy, later renamed Impulse He also edited the last few issues of Impulse although the nominal editor was Harry Harrison.In later life, Roberts lived in Salisbury He was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis in 1990, and died of its complications in October 2000 Obituaries recalled him as a talented but personally difficult author, with a history of disputes with publishers, editors and colleagues.

    711 Comment

    • Firstly I will say that this book originally did not appeal to me and I was very sceptical about how good this would actually be I mean giant, mutant wasps not usually my thing, but after reading the first few sentences I knew this was going to be an interesting read and became pretty hooked.The main character is Bill Sampson and I love the way that Keith Roberts has enabled him to tell the story in a witty, charming, indepth nightmare and emotional rollercoaster of a ride kinda way.The main sto [...]

    • The Guardian's Keith Roberts obit called this "a failed attempt to produce a catastrophe novel in the vein of John Wyndham or John Christopher." I see it as something else: a catastrophe novel a bit in the vein of The Day of the Triffids, a horror story in which the denizens of the back garden turn against their English masters, and a catastrophe novel a bit in the vein of The Crystal World, a surrealist fantasia in which the landscape is transformed into the embodiment of a dream or nightmare [...]

    • ‘We both watched the incredible death working its way towards us…’America and Russia both explode H-bombs simultaneously. The tests go wrong, cracking the seabed, rupturing continents and engulfing cities, The Thames flattens into a flood plain, London is drowned.Now comes cosmic retribution – giant wasps, monstrous and deadly, directed by a supernal intelligence, invade a reeling world. In England, isolated guerrillas fight on…’Blurb from the 1966 Pan paperback editionRoberts is at [...]

    • Run for the hills! Huge wasps are coming!

    • Jason Bradley Thompson

      (Jun 02, 2020 - 23:13 PM)

      This extremely mediocre British 'cozy catastrophe' novel is only impressive for somehow beating "Day of the Triffids" for the most implausible setup: here, instead of blindness AND killer plants coincidentally striking Earth at the same time, it's planet-shattering earthquakes AND global swarms of semi-intelligent, killer giant wasps. The narrator, a reader-insert character with no family or background, survives the initial quake and must then deal with the wasps, who can't speak or manipulate o [...]

    • If I were to choose a book for every year of my life this would be in there for about 1969, when I was 15. This was not long after it was first published. It is a terrific fats-paced story about human endurance in the face of adversity. It is reminiscent of Day of the Triffids via early Dr Who.At the time I had a friend who didn't share my enjoyment of books. He couldn't see the point as the books he had been offered were boring. I gave him my copy of the Furies and he thought it was great, it g [...]

    • I have read this several times. Basic plot makes for a far better story than it first sounds-world taken over by giant wasps yes that's what I said its extremely good. Roberts wrote in mid 60's and it is rather dated but its an excellent and refreshingly different take on the 'post apolyptic' twaddle so often churned out since. I've always found it reads like it should be book 1 and 2, as there is a very sudden plot twist in the middle. A dark and riveting book. Love it.

    • This was like reading a ScyFy "creature feature" without all the terrible acting. Very enjoyablee characters were interesting and the action never let up. My only problem was the ending "explanation"at was a little weak and unsatisfying. Otherwise a very enjoyable diversion.

    • Surprisingly good! I'd have given it a 5 bit I can't really justify ranking a book about giant killer wasps as high as my other 5s. Yep, a book about giant wasps that take over earth. And it was actually a very good read! Mental!

    • his first novel. very pulp, dated writing. later, he got over that.*g*

    • Magnificent yarn about the catastrophic plague of gigantic wasps which turns the earth into a veritable charnel house. Keith Roberts writes with great verve and alacrity.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *